Skip to content

Fall Rides from the Teton Valley, Idaho…

October 20, 2012

Big Hole Mountains

I’ve been riding Two Feathers and Sonata as much as possible before the winter cuts me off. The myriad of fall color, a visual siren calling me out to the forest, delivered in its splendor. Bright reds, deep oranges, warm yellows… Both the horses have arrived to a place where I trust to ride out alone, although my daughter, Genavieve, has been my regular weekly companion. Riding out into the Teton and Big Hole Mountains is a new level of being out there. There is a sense of wild that filters into your pours and changes the taste in your mouth.

Now the leaves are calling it a year, giving up in floating waves, falling to the earth and carpeting the trails. Yesterday I headed up to Teton Canyon on Two Feathers. I had my dogs and I picked up Genavieve’s two dogs since they were house bound. We were a big loud pack against the threat of foraging bears. We trotted up Mill Creek Trail until the going got slippery. Pockets of snow, stubborn in cold draws despite the warm day of 50+ degrees forced me to slow down. Two Feathers loves to go, but after a small slip, even she understood our peril as we navigated narrow sections where a slip would not be pretty. We wound through forest, stands of naked aspens, their white trunks shining in great numbers until we rounded a treeless bend and were graced with a view of the Tetons face on.

Looking down into Teton Valley from Mill Creek Trail

My canine companions

My Reward – Climb every mountain, ford every stream…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. susan green permalink
    October 20, 2012 10:28 pm

    it is beautiful! the Teton’s are my favorite mountain range! I am so glad you are doing well! talk to you soon Susie

  2. Cesar Padilla permalink
    October 20, 2012 10:52 pm

    Gorgeous country. Lucky you!

Leave a comment