Skip to content

Almost Spring Training

February 25, 2012

Warm air has bathed our corner of paradise in the Idaho high country, so even though it’s still February, I’ve been inspired to start the mares anew in their training for the upcoming season. The first trip to the round pen in some weeks proved to be an exhilarating experience. Both Two Feathers and Sonata demonstrated their lack of full cooperation by kicking their heels back toward me, running around like maniacs, keeping their heads to the outside of the round pen, and performing any other acts of disrespect they could muster. My darling Two Feathers quickly responded and within minutes, cooperation was at hand. Sonata, my husband’s horse, had much more to say and I needed to keep my guard up against the possibility that she might careen too close to me during her temper tantrum.

Two Feathers before she got her winter fuzz

Now that we’ve had successive days with 20 minute jaunts to the round pen, our willing, inquisitive, intelligent mares are back. Sonata is so telepathic, I  find that I must be very careful with my thoughts to keep her from responding to cues that are in the formative stage. One must not think of the term reverse too soon, as she will respond to that thought as if it were shouted.

After months of hoof problems from her short trim in early December, Two Feathers is finally in full form. I rode her yesterday. She stood stock still for mounting, and responded to soft and subtle cues from my hands. I feel great about where we are and better still to have ample time to take it slow and build our relationship brick by brick.

Me on Sonata in our round pen

Cant wait to do this

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2012 11:15 pm

    Lovely! Yes, taking the time it takes. 🙂 It’s worth it though. I’ve been getting my girls out a lot this winter…we really need the rain, but I’ve so enjoyed these warm winter rides!

    • February 26, 2012 2:36 am

      Hi there Dee! I’ve heard about how warm its been back in Santa Cruz. I often think about year round riding…

Leave a Reply

