Skip to content

A Pictoral Look into My Life in Idaho

September 26, 2011

I had house guests from California, the kind that are so comfortable, I found myself wearing my jammies too often.  Laura looks at life through the artist’s eye and she could be found just about anytime with sketch pad or camera in hand.  Before she and Tom left, I downloaded her photographic chronology of our lives.  It wasn’t until later that I took a good look and thought her photos would provide a good peek into our daily existence up here.

I’m actually happier than this, especially when Tim is home.

My little love bug Zephyr, taking liberties.

I gather flower seeds everywhere I go.  I will keep you posted with respect to the much hoped for spring glory

The never ending quest to create actual soil, featuring my backside, pictured by Laura.  Had to use it.  Not bad for 53 years old.

Lots of water needed out here on the high desert.  We are already eating out of my new garden.

Me and my sweetheart Tim watching football.  He looks a little scary, but what’s new?

Breakfast, my world famous banana walnut buckwheat pancakes.  Those are my jammies.  I don’t wear the same thing all the time.  Actually, I kind of do.  I stand my jeans up in the corner for the next day, until they resemble dirt.

High school friends, Tom and Tim working.  Good men.  Firewood is essential here.

Me and Laura hiking up to Moose Lake.  The sign lies about the mileage, but Tom and Laura don’t know that yet.  Spirits are still high.

Me and Laura at the lake, finally.  She said she would love to hike, if it wasn’t too far or too strenuous.  Oops, it was 12 miles with about 5 miles straight uphill.  It’s been at least 4 years since we made this hike.  Old age is a bitch. I simply didn’t remember. 

Tim and I at the lake.  Love, love, love, everything about it.

Delicious rib eye steaks from Ivies Market in Mackay.  The best steaks I’ve ever tasted and we deserve them.

The family walk.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. friend permalink
    September 26, 2011 11:40 am

    I love your pictures.You look sooooo happy and healthy. I miss our talks and your advise.

  2. helen permalink
    September 26, 2011 1:39 pm

    Ditto my email of yesterday.

  3. September 26, 2011 3:34 pm

    Hi Julie,
    I think its great you are gathering the wild seeds. Please bear in mind that they will have to go through a freezing period (I am not sure how long) or they won’t germinate for you in the spring. Good luck can’t wait to see the results.

    • September 27, 2011 2:05 pm

      Thank goodness you wrote to tell me! I wonder if I can put the seeds out in the unheated garage for the winter? My plan is to plant half of the seeds in the garden in November and plant the other half in flats, to see which ones do best. I don’t know what the seedling will look like yet, so I have a lot of learning ahead.

  4. Laura permalink
    September 28, 2011 1:55 am

    Julie,

    Since we left your beautiful, cozy, warm, comfortable and inspiring home, I’ve been trying to come up with adequate words to express our gratitude and appreciation. We had an excellent time with you and Tim.

    (The hike was fantastic — sometimes you just have to have burning muscles as the
    price of achieving the breath-taking beauty of a place. We’d do it again without hesitation!)

    Love to you both,
    Laura

    • October 2, 2011 3:53 pm

      It was so great to have you two here. I’ve been thinking about what you said with respect to a deadline. I need one too and have made Jan 1st my deadlline to complete Pacheco Falls. Thanks for reading some of it. I hope the rest of your trip was fantastic. Please come back, next time for much longer!!

Leave a Reply

