Skip to content

Two Feathers and Me

September 11, 2011

My partnership with Two Feathers is deepening, and how could it not under the circumstances?  Living with my horse is a miracle.  I hook up the trailer for example, leave it ready for daily training.  It was touch and go that first time after her 14 hour ordeal.  She loaded right up, but then again would not get out.  By this time I had her sister Sonata loading and unloading on command, so smart me decides to have Sonata show her how easy it is to get out.  Two Feathers was not amused when I walked slightly away from the trailer.  She panicked and jumped both her front feet into the manger.  I ran to get a board to pry her weight off the lip.  By the time I returned, she already had one hoof free.  I couldn’t budge the second one, but she freed herself in another few minutes.  We all took a deep breath and thanked our lucky stars that no one was hurt.  The chicken in me wanted to give up, but the braver side of me kept steady.  Days later, Two Feathers now loads and unloads like a champ.

I’ve been riding just about every day, not just in my own backyard, but out into the backcountry.  My neighbor Sally is just like me.  We just want to ride.  I joined her and some friends out to the Bellas Lakes.  It was Two Feather’s first jaunt into the high country.  We had some obstacles to master, such as small wooden bridges flanked with black mud on both sides, bushwacking over downed trees up steep inclines, standing tied during lunch (which didn’t go well), dealing with other horses and their dramas…  All new and exciting adventures for my young mare.  The ride was everything she and I needed and the company was stellar.  After the ride, Two Feathers was a better horse, many steps closer to a dependable mount.  We had our moments that day, and we continue to have them.  Yet, I still can’t believe that we are this far along.

Jan Meeks, Me, Tanya, Joan Ponton

Sally Johnson, my friend and neighbor

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jocelyn permalink
    September 11, 2011 7:36 pm

    Wonderful! And the country is gorgeous.
    I miss riding so much.

    • September 12, 2011 2:15 pm

      Yes, riding is one of those endeavors that we miss terribly when we are in a non-riding phase. This was the case for me last winter. It’s great to hear from you Jocelyn. I’ve been working on Pacheco Falls every day and have been thinking of you and all the great people I met at Hood River. My daughter is here and has read my new chapters (I have what I thought was 14 really good ones!) and she has given me some great advice about a couple of holes. How is your book coming along? ~Julie

  2. Dee permalink
    September 13, 2011 3:37 am

    Love it! Jealous!:) I too am working on trailering. Opposite problem…Fivee bolts in the trailer…and bolts right back out over the top of me if I am stupid enuf to be in her way. So…I am working on her relaxing and being less impulsive about it. For 4 days now, I have asked her NOT to get in the trailer. I have been asking her to put every part of her body against it, circle in front of it, sideways back n forth in front of the door etc. And, I have been asking her to put one foot on and wait and step back when I ask. Then 2 feet in and wait til I ask her to back up. Today I had her trot with me 6 feet away from the trailer right in and stop with 2 feet in, wait 30 seconds and then back out. Maybe tomorrow, maybe a few days depending on her emotional fitness, I will ask her to go all the way in….

    • September 14, 2011 2:39 pm

      Hi Dee! Sounds like you have a solid plan for trailer training. Let me know when have it down! My daughter and I trailered the two girls the other day without a hitch. There was a time, not so long ago, when I thought I was going to have to purchase a different trailer. Time in is the key, isn’t it? Why not trailer your horses out for a visit?

Leave a Reply

