Skip to content

A Kitten Strays into My Life

August 18, 2011
Bunny Barriers

Reading can be dangerous.  Here is my story.  I read an article in a magazine about fall gardening in northern mountain climates.  Hey, that’s me!  Next thing you know I am embarking on a major project to build the garden where I will put the fall hopefuls.  Actually, the garden story will be my next blog.  What made that article dangerous?  All projects of a ranch nature lead me to my favorite store, Round Valley Ranch Supply located in Challis, a short hour’s drive from my home.  This store is my only nod to joining the legions of women who like to shop.  In just about every other shopping situation, I  behave more like a man.  Enter store, locate item, pay, get out.

So there I was in Round Valley Ranch Supply, unattended.  Right off I noticed that all plants were on major sale, so I wandered into parts normally forbidden to me.  A young lady asked if she could help me.  I mentioned that I would love to take advantage of the sale,  but the bunnies were getting out of hand.  Then she said it.  We have a stray kitten back there that needs a home, quick.  It’s nasty though, but we are probably going to have to kill it if no one takes it.”  Kill it!  I followed her toward the wayward animal who had ripped into no less than 8 huge bags of dog food they wanted to sell.  I approached the kitten who was trapped in a raccoon  cage.  It hissed at me.  “It must like you,” she said.  “It lunged at everyone else.”  I don’t know how this cat really relates to my rabbit problem, so I got a nice big roll of chicken wire while I was at it.

Anyway, I was sold on this venomous creature who looked to me like it needed some good old fashion lovin.  I called Tim.  It will be an outside cat, I tell him, it can live in the garage.  He said yes, can you believe it.  The extemely polite and always helpful guys at Round Valley dumped it in a cardboard box and quickly sealed it with tape.  No one wanted to touch it.  I took this wild beast and let it out in the tack room.  It has been a week and it still spits at me when I get close.  “Don’t scratch the eyes out of the one who feeds you”, I tell it.  My orignal fear of the cat running off has been replaced my by wonder if it will ever leave the tack room.  Will I always have to fear that a sneack attack will be launched when I am just trying to tack up my horse?  My daughter Genavieve and her boyfriend Cheyne sent me a kitty bonding care package.  It came the other day, a catnip chipmunk, a feather on a string, a ball with a bell, a bag of catnip…  Very cute.    Yesterday I headed to the tack room to bond with my kitten.  I dangled the feather, which I had dipped in catnip, in front of its sweet little face.  More hissing, more spitting, more aggressive yowling.  But all is not lost.  Just hours ago, I boldly approached kitty in its hiding place on Tim’s saddle.  I reached my hand toward it, fully expecting to be ripped to shreds.  It mewed, I touched it and then it happened.  I was scratching its ears.  I have a kitty!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 5:32 pm

    …and he SO goes with your decor colors, too! 🙂 what a cutie… reminds me of a wonderful cat we had named Soleil… hope you enjoy many hiss-free years together!! E

    • August 19, 2011 3:39 am

      SO great to hear from you E. I actually thought of you today when I was trying to make better friends with kitty. Then… I had hearts of palm for dinner on my salad. Of course I thought of you again! I just need the chickens and then I will be just like you.

  2. Eva permalink
    August 18, 2011 5:59 pm

    Oh how cute!! You have a kitty!!! Can’t wait to meet him. Does he have a name yet?? I’m glad you are bonding 🙂

    • August 19, 2011 3:40 am

      I named hin/her Red, but I might change that when I can find out what gender kitty is. So far I can’t hold it!

  3. helen permalink
    August 19, 2011 7:04 am

    Wow!! SO much better than “killing” it. She/he might become a real friend, and maybe not always outside…. Keep loving that critter! She/he needs it.

    • August 19, 2011 1:09 pm

      It gets colder here at night now and I just went into check on kitty after I fed the horses. Kitty was so snug and warm in her saddle cocoon.

  4. August 19, 2011 5:36 pm

    Purring here!

  5. helen permalink
    August 25, 2011 3:54 am

    How’s kitten doing now?

    • August 25, 2011 4:39 am

      I’m so sad to report that the kitten has not been seen for 4 days. After one week being locked in the tack room, with what I thought was wonderful progress, I began to leave the door open so kitty could get some fresh air and go outside. Kitty was now eating in the open. Kitty is either under the haystack, next to which I leave food in case, or has gone off and taken it’s chances in the wild. I am still hopeful that I will see kitty one day.

Leave a Reply

