Skip to content

Dream On

August 15, 2011
Time for Iced Coffee

Life was settling down and then Tim had to go.  I was greedy with our time while he was here.  We did a ton of work around, but we took time to recreate. Our firewood pile continues to grow.  The house looks wonderful in its new coat, the garden is producing.   Before Tim left, I began to ride the horses individually, knowing that I would need to practice separating them for when I am here alone.  The horse that is left behind sings a sad tale of woe as we ride away.  “How can I live without you?….”  Somehow the little pile of hay that I give to the one who has to stay get’s eaten.  I guess it’s not that bad.   Today, my ride on Two Feathers started to feel like home, like I was on my partner, like my Utah was still with me.  We trotted the 6 mile loop around Rock Creek, just like I’ve done so many times on Utah.  Two Feathers is getting in shape and beginning to enjoy the work.  Her trot is so smooth, it feels like I’m cheating.  Little did I know what a bouncy trot Utah had, but when he broke out into that extended trot, his center of gravity low and light, legs moving out like unfolding extensions of that center, he was so smooth, we glided across the earth.  Two Feathers is smooth by definition.  I have yet to know what her next level will be.  Going out alone on Sonata is a different experience.  She is like a young kid, everything around interests her, she’s always one step away from the next faster pace.  Except when she doesn’t feel like going this way…

We took time out before Tim left to hike up to a magical place called North Fork Lake.  It was at the end of a stormy week and this day was no different.  We decided to go for it anyway.  We bumped along North Fork Road for too long before we hit the trail head.  Thunder was cracking in the direction we were heading.  Twice we took cover under trees as the storm raged overhead and our little dog trembled because of the thunder.  The lake was well worth it.  Pristine, quiet, perfect.  The sun came out and Tim and I dozed on some rock.  On the way home, I gathered wild flowers into a stunning bouquet which then graced our breakfast table.

This place is everything I want.  I am so glad that I didn’t wait any longer to make the move.  This life takes physical strength and I am still young enough in my fifties to make it happen.  So the moral is, if you have a dream, don’t wait.  We are not getting any younger!

 

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    August 19, 2011 8:28 pm

    I love this series of photos!

  2. August 20, 2011 9:48 pm

    Wonderful photos.

Leave a Reply

