Skip to content

Second Chances? Oh Yeah…

May 6, 2011

 

Steve McCarthy, Lab Director

After 19 1/2 years, I just worked my last shift ever with a difficult co-worker. This woman has driven me nuts to the point where the lab director had to take us to a counseling session.  It became a joke over the years, and each time I found myself sitting in his office with my lid blown off, he would ask me if we needed to take another ride in his beat up van to the employee assistance office. 

The normal Julie would talk here about what a growth experience it was for me to deal with such diversity, and I did grow, but I’m not gonna do that.  Instead I am going to crow about how I made it through, how happy I am that it is over and what a bitch it was to have been locked into that situation.  We all have responsibilities in how we act on the world, especially to people we regularly impact and it is astounding to me that one individual is allowed to spew negative energy on a daily basis in an otherwise pretty darn cool environment.  This is not to say that I have not had my moments, but the idea here is growth and change, for the better. 

My wonderful lab buddies

I have 4 more shifts at Dominican Hospital.  There are people who I love there, people who rank in the top echelon of my mind and heart, people I will miss dearly and hope visit me.  But, as I end my tenure at Dominican Hospital Laboratory, leave the position that was to be my temporary single mother job, I see first hand that dreams come true.  Sometimes they take decades to do so.  Yesterday at Bikram Yoga, the teacher was talking about how there is always a second chance when practicing Bikram and too bad life is not that way.  Well, she is young and that is why she probably doesn’t know that there are many chances in life and that even when things seem like a done deal, the opportunity to truly live roars up and offers itself for the brave and the willing.

My new life

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 5:59 pm

    What a beautiful picture of what should be a beautiful life…at least beyond the dark shadow of such a morbid co-worker. Duh!

Leave a Reply

