Skip to content

The Power and Life of Words

April 7, 2011

I am working through another draft of Pacheco Falls and I reached a few pages that kind of made my stomach turn, and not in a good way.  After spending a week on five pages, I thought I was getting somewhere with this chapter until I hit these particular paragraphs.  I rewrote them a couple of times and was ready to sit down and review the printed result.  I had to put them aside, get up and walk away. 

I am pretty good at using the delete key these days, yet there is something about this chapter that is important.   I find it fascinating that certain passages cause fear within me, as if I have to cross a slippery log across a deep gorge.  It is my own work, I can do anything I want with it, so what is the fear all about?

I believe it speaks to the power of words and what compels us readers to turn pages.  Words have energy and life and the way we string them together is what produces the ability to make us feel.  It is this responsibility that I feel when writing a novel.  If a reader is going to invest precious time reading my work, I want to deliver that life, those words that elicit emotion and connection.  It is a good thing that I love to rewrite.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 6:01 pm

    I have learned that those of us who love to rewrite….DO!

  2. Susie Green permalink
    April 7, 2011 11:06 pm

    sounds great! I can’t wait to read it! hey it is getting close to when you will be here!

    • April 8, 2011 2:44 am

      Oh yes! Tim and I just had our anniversary dinner out and we spoke of you and Hank and how soon we will be moving. So much emotion…

  3. Susie Green permalink
    April 8, 2011 3:58 am

    Happy Anniversary! we had dinner at the Pioneer Saloon tonight and talked about bringing you and Tim there! Good times to come!

Leave a Reply

