Skip to content

Quiet Steps in the Wild

March 9, 2011

In three days, I have seen zero cars go by the road.  The quiet is absolute, the peace everything I want.  Tim has gone off in search of powder, but I have a writing assignment to complete.  It is easy to get it done in this atmosphere and soon I was ready to head out into my front and side yards for a little snowshoeing.  I took off to head around the butte, an easy 3 or 4 mile jaunt.  When I began to cross many animal tracks, moose, elk, coyote, some sort of cat and who knows what else, I wish that I had my little dog with me just in case. 

My playground

I wanted more, so instead of hugging the butte, I veered off up a well used big game trail.  I hoped that when I reached the top, I would be greeted (and frightened) by a group of elk, but no such luck.  Still, my efforts were rewarded by the enormous expanse of untouched beauty as far as I could see.  I could see weather coming in from the direction Tim had gone and I wondered how his adventure was going. 

I made my way back home.  I did not see a single soul, but I could feel the soul of the land all around and within me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Susie Green permalink
    March 9, 2011 8:44 pm

    hey how long are you here for? we will be home on Friday nite… would love to see you! Susie and Hank

  2. Eva permalink
    March 10, 2011 8:11 pm

    Wow Momma… that sounds amazing. I always tell people when they ask why you are moving there that once they go, they will understand. In Idaho you can breath like nowhere else– and you can feel the presence of God. I miss you but I’m glad you guys are enjoying your casa. 🙂

  3. March 10, 2011 10:32 pm

    So glad you are enjoying your wonderful place. But I worry about both of you. Hope you have a communication system. Please let me know. I am so looking forward to seeing you in 2 weeks. Had an SI Joint shot on both side last night and am spending the day in both sides so taking it easy.

    What a wonderful place to write. Love you both so much. mom

  4. April 2, 2011 8:19 pm

    I feel a strong connection to you. Must be your GREAT writing style!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

