Skip to content

Don’t Wait, Look forward to Now

March 5, 2011

Corky walked in the studio to begin teaching our Bikram Yoga class.  He greeted us and opened with this thought before we took our first breath.  “You know how we all have that euphoric feeling after class, how this practice opens your mind and makes all things seem possible.  Why not begin with this attitude, start right now instead of waiting for the transformation.”  I have been practicing using that idea in all things, and for me there are a bunch of opportunities. 

I am in currently in a state of when I move, or when I finish this manuscript, or when I pick up my horse, or when I no longer work at the laboratory, in other words, big changes on the horizon.  In fact, Tim and I are picking up a U-Haul today and driving a load out to the Idaho house.  The last days since that class, I have been adjusting my attitude, asking the process of all these changes to be just as magical as the eventual changes themselves.  I am carrying this attitude in packing each box and rewriting each passage.  And why not?  All these things have to get done anyway, so why be hassled while doing them?  My living space is a disorganized mess right now (always?), I have papers everywhere, my filing system consists of a multitude of random stacks, but somehow it works for me and if I focus on my creativity instead of the chaos, it all seems to work out.  Really, it all goes back to the premise of the story in Cole Creek, how will we tell our story, how do we write our own story every day, every hour?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. helen permalink
    March 5, 2011 10:35 pm

    I drove by on 17th in a hurry today and saw this view of the back of the U-Haul. Enjoy the drive, while you’re at it, and safe travels. The time is going by so fast! Seems like we just had Christmas and months and months before the move. Let’s get together when you get back. I’d still love to hear about the SF conference, and the intensive you’re also doing.

  2. March 7, 2011 9:50 pm

    Yes, lets do. I will be back on the 16th.

  3. March 11, 2011 5:36 am

    Moving sucks but there is a lot to be learned from it. 🙂

    • March 11, 2011 5:13 pm

      Greetings. Are you in Brazil? Yes, lots to be learned in the process of moving. Thanks for writing.

  4. March 15, 2011 4:42 am

    No, Montreal and California actually, but we seem to get around the world in pictures!

Leave a Reply

