Skip to content

The 21st Century Pioneer, Find Something You Love

January 31, 2011

Our house in Idaho

Many people ask me how I am going to be able to move to a place like Idaho given that I am a lover of people.  Just to clarify, there are lots of people in Idaho, kind of.    But most people who know me, also know that I am a pioneer woman deep inside.  I love whipping up a meal from the things I have in the kitchen and staying out of the car for weeks at a time sounds like heaven.  It is interesting to put some perspective in the living out in the boonies thing.  Last night, Tim and I went to our son’s hockey game.  It was far away, up in the Bay Area.  The roads were teeming with traffic, people driving on a Saturday evening as if getting somewhere 10 minutes earlier was the most important thing on earth.  We made it to the game in 2 hours.  People seem aghast that we would live more than an hour from a Home Depot, but there seems to be no trouble in driving the same distance for any other thing.  When my coon hound was a wee puppy, she would shudder as we walked down our street, the loud sounds of traffic and humanity an insult to her huge sensitive ears.   I am beginning to feel like that myself.

Eva and Me

I yearn to have a bit of space around my personal sphere, where immersion is replaced by invitation.  The call of giving a go at growing some food, doing some fishing and hunting for our table, working side by side with my husband to turn our patch of inter-mountain high desert into our homestead is strong within me.  The dream will not be realized without a price and as we near our date, that cost looms larger than ever.  My daughter Eva and I run together at least 4 times a week, my 85-year-old father lives here, I love the community of Village Yoga…  I think of the early pioneers who had the itch so strong that they left everything they knew to forge a new life in an unknown place.  I get that, but at the same time I am happy that I am a 21st century pioneer.  I can get into my car and drive to California in a day, I can hop on an airplane and cut that time down even more.  So, go we will, into a world that we have merely tasted.  We will do it even though it is scary and possibly crazy.

After I wrote this post, I went for a run in the mountains despite the fact that I was feeling punky and it was pouring rain.  My husband encouraged me to give it a go.  I ended up running 7 glorious miles through redwoods whose canopies kept the rain from soaking me.  When I climbed to the top two different times, I was out in the elements and my multiple layers kept me warm despite my drenched condition.  What better thing to follow-up such a run than a nice hot Bikram yoga room.  At the end of class when we were all in Savasana, the teacher Amy Mihal said, “find something you love and share it with the rest of the world.”  It brought to mind the line in Cole Creek that someone else told me once, when you take care of yourself, it is a gift to everyone else.  I realized that this is what the move to Idaho is all about, finding something I love and taking care of myself.  And of course, I will share it with the world.

I love this! My two daughters Eva & Genavieve after a climb.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susie Green permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:21 pm

    hi Julie, I love reading your posts! The picture of your house is great! I was looking at your new home yesterday when I was helping Henry feed and watter the cattle! It is a beautiful view! so many people tell me some of those same things, so you have given me some inspiration as to how to respond to them! we are looking forward to you being here! Susie

    • February 1, 2011 2:55 am

      Hey Susie. Great to hear from you. I can’t believe our move is only months away now. We will be your full time neighbors soon.

Leave a Reply

