Skip to content

Just Say No to Old Age Aches and Pains

January 25, 2011

Ever since I was 16-years-old, I have loved to run.  I took it up as a junior in high school.  I plodded along with my heaving chest, not knowing a thing about how to get better except for the fact that I liked to go.  Back in the 70s, in Maine where I went to high school, lots of us smoked cigarettes.  We had a student union that was open to our habit, it was normal.  It was the running that turned the lightbulb on for me.  I have run many miles in my life, my body easily switching to the new and much healthier addiction. 

Skip forward 30 plus years.  I still love to run.  I want to do it all the time, but the body complains.  So this is when I start jumping up and down and writing about my exciting news.  Tim and I started this anti-inflamatory/anti-arthritis diet 2 weeks ago.  In case you want to know what it is, basically if you can’t throw the food into the ground and make it grow, you don’t want to eat it.  We had reasons for this, mainly Tim’s osteoarthritis in his neck, so we started researching.  Guess what???  Those old aches and pains that we think are age creeping in….  Hello, I am going to go out on a limb and assert that it is probably all food related.  Guess who ran 8 miles on Saturday and then 6 more on Sunday and feels fantastic? I am reversing my opinion that I have to live with the stiffness in my back and joints and keep my running down to a manageable 4 miles.  I reject it.  I want to go far and wide with my supple joints.  I’ll keep you posted.

Really, it is just like the cigarettes.  What seemed okay and normal back then, now seems so obviously wrong.  This is what we are going to think about the food thing.  Except, I’m not gonna wait around for the experts to tell me.  Life is happening right now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 3:49 pm

    What a great post! Let us know what foods you find most beneficial and thanks.

  2. Laura permalink
    January 27, 2011 4:09 pm

    Inspiring. I alternate running bursts with my almost-daily walking. It definitely enhances the experience.

Leave a Reply

