Skip to content

Dig Deep and Feret out the Demons

January 11, 2011

I was sitting in the Asana Tea House today having a great writing session.  I am nearing the end of my second book Pacheco Falls, very exciting.  I was able to focus despite having two other things running through my mind.  One being my upcoming event tomorrow – Local Night at Bookshop Santa Cruz.  I will be a featured author at the event, please come if you can.    (Check out my website for details:  julieannemorley.com

I hadn’t fully decided what I would talk about in my allotted time, yet I have been pondering for weeks.  Then, as I was getting ready to wrap up my session, two women sat down next to me and began to talk about the new movie Black Swan that I recently saw.   For some reason, these two thoughts ran in to each other and began my train of thought for what I will say.  I have been thinking about that movie ever since I saw it, how could one not?  I wept during parts of it, the struggle of the aspiring artist, her need to destroy a part of herself in order to achieve the level of excellence in her art that she so much desired, broke my heart and had me wishing for what came to be her downfall. 

This idea though, that parts of get in the way to triumphant achievement is the core of what I want to express in my writing.  I am not saying that we should drive ourselves into a feverish quest, risking madness even, but art is the over expression of true feeling, the thing that brings us to the cusp of a change.  For this reason, I loved the film because since then I have been examining which parts of me still stand in the way, which parts of me tell me I can’t achieve my writing goals and I believe that I must put these parts to rest.  I will not choose such a violent method as in the film, but instead practice what I preach by treading out into nature, shedding my outer skin and taking an internal inventory about what within me still serves and what needs to be cut loose.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marvin Tennefoss permalink
    January 11, 2011 2:46 pm

    HOW SUCCINCT AND INTUITIVE, YOUR BLOGS HAVE RISEN TO NEW HEIGHTS! WOULDN’T IT BE A MUCH NICER COUNTRY IF AT LEAST A FEW OF OUR POLITICIANS (ASPIRING POLITICIANS PARTICULARLY) CAME PREPARED
    TO OBSERVE AND PERFORM WITH SOCIETY IN MIND?!

Leave a Reply

