Skip to content

The Big Sky

December 29, 2010

I have the house to myself tonight.  It wasn’t planned.  Tim and Cole went off for an overnight snowboard trip a couple of hours ago.  What has been going through my mind?  It is the big sky of Idaho, seeing the way the clouds play on the land, the continuously changing view out my gigantic windows there.  My thoughts seem to naturally go somewhere outside and wonderful when I am alone. 

Being alone is a treasured state that should never be squandered.  I guess it is easy for me to say because I am in love with someone and I apologize if I am being insensitive to anyone who is chronically lonely.  What constitutes the idea of squandering, you might wonder.  I think it is a perception thing, a way of looking at the world.  I am not doing anything different right now that I might not do with Tim home.  I am not sitting in a candle lit bath reading a delicious book (although that sounds like a great idea).  What I am doing is thinking, letting my mind go deep without regard to when it must come out.  It feels like a retreat  and then I go right back to thinking about the big sky. 

The big sky helps me to understand my little place on this earth.  It compliments my

mind that tries to convince me that me is everything.  When I look up, peer out of my intense cerebral process, I gasp at the enormity of the world.  This might be why the outdoors are so important to me, why my characters find their personal evolutions outdoors.  When we are inside all the time, it is easy to forget the big picture, to step outside of our own dramas and understand ourselves as a small part in a huge cosmos.  

Tim Morley and Little Jack

It is so easy to get lulled into a the trance of everyday life, to go through the motions of our days by rote, even when I am writing and creating.  Being alone spurs thought processes.  Go ahead, take those thoughts outside and set them free, let them rise into the big sky and then return to you as if riding on a boomerang, changed by their encounter with the wide open spaces.  What better thing to then give to the ones we love, our deep thoughts washed by the raw elements of nature.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 9:56 am

    eeeeeeeeeeeee 😀

    super!!!

  2. Eva permalink
    December 31, 2010 6:55 pm

    You said it! I think we spend so much time inside without the connection to the outside world and nature…once you get outside you realize how much we really need it in our lives!!

Leave a Reply

