Skip to content

Time to Give Back to Yourself

December 27, 2010

photo by Poppy De Garmo

Sometimes I don’t feel like dedicating the 2 plus hours to my yoga practice.  Reasons to keep my mat hanging over the fence, my laundry down 2 more towels, avoiding the sometimes chilly, always tedious bike ride home are easy to come by.  Today was one of those days, the post-Christmas food beckoning from festive plates, an invitation to stay at home and remain cozy.  But I went.

I hopped on my bike, taking my slightly larger shorts for the occasion (everyone knows why) and soaked mat off the

photo by Poppy De Garmo

fence and headed downtown to Village Yoga.  The ride down town always lends support to my decision.  I feel like a wild and free woman streaking through the streets on my silver bicycle, music waking my mind and whispering to the adventuress in me.    

By the time I arrive, I am reluctant to turn off my tunes and step inside, but the studio calls to me with a sense of calm and peace that seeps under the door, into my senses.  I stood on my mat amongst many other yogis, allowed myself to go directly into my private place, welcome after the busy family life of Christmas.  My body was stiff today, my balance not the best, but it never matters in Bikram Yoga.  So yeah for me because giving myself that kind of time accumulates and enables me to access a part of myself that I quite enjoy and am getting to know better as I grow and evolve.

photo by Poppy De Garmo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. helen permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:50 pm

    Nice pics! Reminds me of modern version of old spa days.

    • December 29, 2010 6:03 am

      How funny that you should mention that, my old friend. I think you would love Bikram Yoga. How about joining me in 2011. We can be a couple of young girls together again.

  2. Eva permalink
    December 27, 2010 11:25 pm

    You look beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

