Skip to content

I Love Christmas

December 22, 2010

I have been remiss on my blog.  Every time I have thought about getting to it, I just

Tim & Cole Morley

didn’t.  How unlike little-old-stick-to-it me.  Today it has dawned on me what the situation is.  I am in Christmas splendor.  It is that time of year when the family comes around more, there are phone calls and secrets and presents building under the tree.  Cookies are baking and Christmas tunes are playing on Pandora Radio, the best thing that has every happened to music.  

I happen to be married to a fellow that loves Christmas music and everything Christmas.  Tim is a man who still believes in Santa and still makes the ash footprints in front of the fireplace because he knows that Santa is busy elsewhere.  Santa still brings our kids one present each, because he knows that is all they need from him. 

The other evening, Tim & I were shopping at one of our local stores.  We saw a person we know and she commented on how she hated shopping for other people.  I walked away from her not quite able to muster an answer.  I realize that I feel exactly the opposite.  I love shopping for my loved ones, it is my own shopping that I’m adverse to.  If I were rich, I would buy people tons of presents. 

Tim is super fun at Christmas and given that this is our last Christmas in this house, I have been thinking about all the Christmases we have created for our children over the years.  It has been a wonderful annual celebration for us, we make our lists, each of the four children has a column, everything is equal, we vow not to buy each other presents and then blatantly break the rule.  This time of year is a chance to suspend normal reality, to be in a blissful period heightened by the understanding of an important truth.  We can make this season anything we want.  It can be filled with stress and things we should do or it can be a time to stop and look around, take in the presence of people who are usually scattered. 

Christmas is only a few days away and next week at this time it will be all over.  Enjoy every minute my friends and may peace be with you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Tennefoss permalink
    December 23, 2010 1:37 pm

    What a beautiful time for you and the children. Love to you all. mom-grandma

  2. Eva permalink
    December 24, 2010 6:59 pm

    I feel the same! All over people are saying that they hate the holidays… which I think is so sad. The holidays are not a time for stress and rushing, but of enjoying your family and enjoying the act of giving!! I love buying gifts for all of my loved ones, and seeing the look on their faces upon receiving them! 🙂 We have created wonderful traditions, it is funny how important they are to all of us now even as adults. We will continue them on for our families, and create new ones in the process. I am with you that it a great time of year! Who doesn’t want to enjoy each other, laugh at the craziness, eat eat eat, and have present frenzy!! Love you, and MERRY CHRISTMAS !!!!!! ❤

Leave a Reply

