Skip to content

Let’s be Villagers

December 2, 2010

Barb Bacon, shopkeeper

Some people just always say the right thing, do the wonderful thing, make this planet a better place.  One such person is Barb Bacon, the shopkeeper of Island Home & Garden which in itself is a smorgasbord of color, scent and beauty for the senses. 

Since I have been promoting Cole Creek, I have experienced the gambit with respect to shopkeepers’ willingness to take a chance on a new author.   After Barb read my book, she has been nothing short of generous with her space, her ideas and her encouragement.  For this reason, I highly recommend doing a little Christmas shopping at this special place, filled with so many gift ideas that your head will spin.  I often wonder, what makes some people open their space and others close the door?  It is that old story we all know, the one about Scrooge.  Each time I run into such open willingness, I feel the collective spirit of our common struggle to eek out our living.  I feel like I am transported out of a mass of humanity and into a little village where each villager understands the plight of the other. 

A few weeks ago, I touched on the topic of what we spend our money on.  I have been thinking about that quite a bit as we zoom at break-neck speed into the time of year we spend the most.  I think this year, I will concentrate not only on quality gifts, but gifts that have been created from the fruits of someone’s personal labor.  I plan to support the potter at work, the photographer at yoga, the local coffee shop by means of a gift certificate, and… my neighborhood shop, the one that this great woman worked her butt off to create.    So, see you all at Island Home & Garden on 17th Ave in Santa Cruz.  You won’t regret it!

Barb and Wendy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Waynar permalink
    December 2, 2010 9:08 am

    Love that place!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

