Skip to content

Love is Everything

November 30, 2010

Julie & Tim Morley Winter 1993 -

Love is everything, at least to me, it fuels my writing, replenishes my reservoirs, keeps me warm at night…  Could that be why the word hate sits on my tongue like a spoonful of rancid yogurt?   I feel like I am in a super active limbo (I know, a contradiction in concepts, but it does work) right now, if you have been following this blog, you know that I am a busy woman finishing up one life chapter and starting the new one.  This requires lots of work, physical, mental, emotional.  We have lived in this Santa Cruz house for 15 years, did most of the raising of our kids, tucked stuff in corners, things broke, paint chipped, plants have taken over.  What began as a task of overwhelming proportions has become a walk through previously read chapters, the pages worn thin by use, each word etched into my mind. 

Tim and I just had coffee out by the pond.   He and Cole took down the old playhouse that encompassed an entire corner and built a small deck.  We sunned there just now on this chilly day, our toes cold in the shadows, but our shoulders warmed by the California winter rays.  We had our afternoon coffee, yoga on the menu for later this afternoon.  I asked him if he wanted to add anything to our earlier difficult conversation, the kind of discussion so essential to the maintenance and care of emotional intimacy.  He said no, but we did talk more anyway. 

I started this blog with love and this is why.  Sometimes things need to be said that we know will not be what our partner wants to discuss, but because of love it is prudent to spit it all out.  I guess you could call it – giving your love the gift of your honest self.  Our ideas about when to leave for Idaho, what needs to be done prior to that, how much to live for today versus how much work we do for the future, in what way to spend our funds, all these things knock around and sometimes gel into an opinion that sparks unrest.  It is through sheer love that Tim and I bulldozed through our misunderstandings that are part of a man and woman trying to communicate.  And now, after spending the morning on the house, looking forward to yoga and watching Monday night football tonight, I feel free and light and full of love.  I love being outside, running, horses, reading, writing, cooking, winter sports, summer sun, spring beginnings, my kids of course, housework even, so many things I can’t list them, but most of all I love Timothy Peter Morley.

Timothy Peter Morley

Fruits of our Labor!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    November 30, 2010 3:10 pm

    Love your new kitchen and wait to see it

  2. Amy Waynar permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:46 pm

    kitchen looks great!

    • November 30, 2010 6:12 pm

      Hi Amy,

      Sorry I have not responded to your wondertul text message yesterday.  Thanks so much for the feedback about Cole Creek.  It means a great deal to me.

      I didn’t know you were heading to Idaho for Thanksgiving.  How is you mama doing?

      Julie Anne Morley Get outside. http://www.julieannemorley.com

Leave a Reply

