Skip to content

Thanks is only the Beginning.

November 25, 2010

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. 

 I am reading Little Bee.  It could not have been a more perfect time.  If I ever feel like whining about not having a kitchen sink for a month, the ease of putting things in perspective has been made easy by the story of the girl from Nigeria. Last night, when we were still hunkered under the sink at 10:30 pm hoping for a miracle that would connect our pipes and allow water to flow from the new gleaming faucet, I was able to keep my good fortune at the forefront of my mind.  My kitchen works now.  Tim fixed it today and I gathered dishes from all corners of the household to shove in the dishwasher. 

I see clearly this year that feeling thankful is just a beginning, a springboard into a realm of a more profound and happy existence.  It is that Zen concept that if you want what you get, then you always get what you want.  I am going to take this moment to think about what I have and yes, it is very definitely what I want and it has nothing to do with the new kitchen.

Jack, Genavieve, Eva, Cole

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    November 25, 2010 3:02 pm

    God bless your new kitchen. Wish I could share it with you. Will have to settle for your brother’s instead. Love to all of you. Dad

    • November 25, 2010 4:15 pm

      Tim and Cole are putting the turkey in and we have already spoken of you several times!! We will miss you Grandpa and know you are in good hands.

  2. Tricia permalink
    November 25, 2010 4:01 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and our great family!

    • Tricia permalink
      November 25, 2010 4:03 pm

      Sorry, I wanted to say YOUR GREAT FAMILY!!!!

      • November 25, 2010 4:16 pm

        I felt honored to be mentioned as part of your family!! Have a wonderful holiday Tricia with your great family.

Leave a Reply

