Skip to content

Honor Regret

November 4, 2010

A man handed me a book to look at while he went off to visit with one of my coworkers.  I had earlier given him one of my bookmarks.  I flipped his book open to where my bookmark rested and began to read.  I had just been speaking to one of my daughters about regrets and mistakes and there I was reading about a Japanese woman’s view on this very topic. 

This woman lives a simple life in the mountains of Japan.  The writer thought that she orchestrated her life to be free of regret.  She scoffed at the notion, instead championing the importance of regret and how its existence in our life is more the measure of a life well lived. 

The book  named A Different Kind of Luxury is about having a different kind of wealth.  It is the kind that is

A Different Kind of Luxury

available to each and every one of us regardless of how much money we make.  It is the wealth of creative thinking, being rich in spirit, evolution of our self that in part comes from having regrets. 

I was instantly at one with her ideas.  Is this not what I myself am doing?  I am going off to rural Idaho where stores are distant and time is available for creative thinking.  It is not all one big bowl of cherries, my friends.  Oh no, I fear regret.  I fear giving up a benefited job that I have had for twenty years and knowing that dollars will not be forthcoming each fortnight. 

But, I the regret of not taking this chance is already palpable.  I will dive into the sparkling waters of meager living, trying to homestead a bit, live on less but live for more.  Tim and I were talking about the book this morning on our walk in the open space.  We are redoing our kitchen, removing the peeling formica cabinets, the tile counters imbedding in failing grout that only stays clean for thirty minutes.  We ordered the cabinets from Cabinet Giant and they came in flat boxed with a million little screws.  We are doing our kitchen for some imposibly low dollar amount and we realized that we have always done it this way, done the work ourselves, not needed the best of the best, instead being happy with just average. 

As we work on the home that we have raised our children in, knowing that we will be leaving it soon, I am both sad and full.  Sad to leave it now that we are finally getting real wood cabinets!  But, honestly, Tim and I are happy that two of our kids will be living there with roommates, that the house will morph into its next function with the next generation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

