Skip to content

Legacy of Listening

October 26, 2010

Speaking at Biltmore Lake Book Clubs

I am back in California after my trip to North Carolina that was both magical and fruitful.  The magic came out of the people, so gracious, interested and genuine.  It was the epitome of what any writer would want.  To speak at a book club event, whose readers love your work and want you to know it. 

Floating from Thursday’s warm response, I looked forward to my Friday lunch date with Leslie Patrick, a freelance writer and former resident of Santa Cruz.  Who would have thought that I would get a review chance for the Good Times while in

Leslie Patrick

Asheville, NC?  We met at the Tupelo Honey Cafe in downtown Asheville.  The place was packed and we easily talked away the half hour wait for a table.  We parted as new friends and fellow writers.  By the time I arrived back at Biltmore Lake, I had great news.  First, Leslie had already gotten the go ahead for a book review for Cole Creek and second, I learned that Cole Creek had been accepted at the Midwest Book Review. 

Julie Anne Morley, Serious Author!

During the final event of my trip, a question was asked that I couldn’t figure out how to give the answer that I knew was somewhere in my consciousness.  The question, raised by a friend of my mother’s was this:  “What part of Cole Creek has been influenced by your mother, where is she in the book?”    I stammered out an answer, but knew that it wasn’t really accurate.  It came to me several hours later, in the wee hours of the night.  The thing about my mother is that she has always stopped to listen to me, to what I was saying.  I have reconnected with some old high school friends on Facebook recently (Amanda Lemley and Karol Almroth) and they have each mentioned that my mother had a positive influence in their lives.  Why was that, I wondered.  It is the same answer.  She listened to them, I am sure.  This is what Irene does in Cole Creek, what Rebecca did and moves to reclaim, what David does and what Toni is learning by example.  It is what I do with my kids.  It is a  beautiful legacy to hand down and one that I am fortunate to have learned.

Carolyn Tennefoss, my mama

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    October 26, 2010 8:12 am

    You found your mom….great!

  2. Carolyn permalink
    October 26, 2010 6:25 pm

    I so enjoyed you here as did so many others. mom

  3. Eva permalink
    October 27, 2010 6:18 pm

    It is funny how sometimes we see our loved ones in unexpected parts of our lives, learning more about them and about ourselves. Go Julie Anne GO!!! 🙂

  4. Dee permalink
    October 30, 2010 8:34 pm

    This is eerie…that pic of your mom is kind of how I pictured Irene, except in more casual dress…

    • October 31, 2010 1:17 am

      That is something. The universe churning to bring thoughts together. how is everything at the ranch? I think of Coast Road often and of course Wilder….

Leave a Reply

