Skip to content

Natural Beauty of North Carolina

October 21, 2010

Here I am in the oldest mountains in the United States, not the tall and formidable peaks in Idaho, but the worn soil covered ridges from which the magical trees grow into their multitude of colors.  Last night I walked around Biltmore Lake in that last of the light taking every picture that caught my fancy.  I took 52 photos and don’t regret a single one.  As I crossed a foot bridge that spans an inlet, groups of geese flew in, signaling their landings with loud voices and landing next to their flock mates with a thunderous splash. 

Susan, Doris, Linda, Carolyn, Shirly Grugen

What in North Carolina is as good as this lovely outdoor splendor?  Easy answer on this one.  It is the lovely North Carolina people.  Everyone is so nice and I mean everyone.  I had the pleasure to host a luncheon here at my mother’s house.  We were eleven ladiesstrong.  The women have put in their time and effort to not only make me feel welcome, but are also handling all the arrangements for my reading/signing tonight.  I served them lunch and

Pam Phillips and Karen Foley

cake, but couldn’t keep them from jumping up to help clear.   As these particular women had already read Cole Creek, so we could talk about the particulars of  plot and characters, their struggles and developments.  It was great to get this kind of feedback, especially as I write the next novel. 

The best part was seeing first hand that Cole Creek had brought something special to my readers and I hope to share many more such times with book clubs who have read my book.

Susan Runnels, Carolyn Tennefoss, Lynda McMillan, Ellie Stock, Doris Eckland- in front Shari Mastra, Me, Linda Hollingshead

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    October 21, 2010 11:59 pm

    Magnificent entry! What a wonderful experience to be with these ladies and surrounded by all that natural beauty of the area. Love your photos.

  2. Cesar, Eva permalink
    October 22, 2010 3:19 am

    Wow. Beautiful scenery… you can tell this is where the term “fall beauty” came from and why so many flock to the East Coast to see this wonderful change!! Watching the seasons pass through and the world change before us is a reminder that we also change with the seasons, just like the leaves turning gold and the grasses drying out. The luncheon spread looked great!! 🙂 Eva

    • October 22, 2010 3:35 am

      It is even more magnificent in person. Today during my run, the wind picked up, blowing the leaves off the trees. They floated down all around me like gold rain.

  3. Linda Hollinshead permalink
    October 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    We were the lucky recipients of your great energy, Julie Anne. Not to mention your great cooking. Last night was a resounding success. You have such a good combination of intellect, spirituality, and humor all mixed together and reflected in your genuine personality. Thank you for writing and sharing. Let’s stay in touch!

    • October 22, 2010 1:46 pm

      What was so great about last night was being amongst all you women who had read Cole Creek. As I spoke, I looked out over the people and could see heads nodding in understanding and support as if we were all in on a little secret about something that is dear to us. As an author, I can’t imagine a better outcome to having had my book used as your book club pick. Thanks for the comment Linda.

Leave a Reply

