Skip to content

An Unexpected Gift

October 17, 2010

My Niece and I

I had a great flight to North Carolina.  I met a bunch of people who read, sold a book and gave out bookmarks left and right.  At one point I looked around my seat and saw all the people around me with my bookmarks sticking out of their books.  It was pretty cool.  I also wrote twenty pages of Pacheco Falls, the story is tumbling out now. 

The high point of my trip thus far though happened when my brother greeted me at the baggage claim.  He told me that his daughter Sophie had made the trip with him.  I hadn’t seen Sophie in probably 6 or 7 years, which is an especially long time since she is only 13.  “Where  is she,” I asked looking around.  “In the car,” my brother

Father, daughter, grandmother

answered.  Where else do you wait when you are 13, fully plugged into the latest device.  As I approached, Sophie hopped out of the car and before me stood a vision of loveliness.  We hugged and I felt the strong familial connection.  This young girl is incredible.

On the way to Grandma’s house, I learned that Sophie was being allowed to have her ears pierced, finally.  I made my daughter’s wait as well and it was fun to see the situation from another perspective.  I told Sophie how Eva had written a persuasive essay in fourth grade to convince me that she should get to pierce her ears just like all the other girls.  Her essay was good, but it didn’t change my mind. 

Auntie Julie got to be present during what the ear piercer described as “a rite of passage.”  Well, it was and the fact that we were three generations strong at the event was extra special.  It was fantastic to have the opportunity to watch my brother be a father and it is so obvious that he excels at it.

 

father and daughter

3 generations

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    October 18, 2010 1:58 am

    It Thrills me to see you all together. It looks like you’re enjoying yourselves. Dad

    • October 18, 2010 2:07 am

      Yes, we are having fun, especially with that 49er win. Now we just need the Giants to come through again!

  2. Eva permalink
    October 21, 2010 3:19 am

    Wow that is Sophie!!! She looks amazing :). I would love to spend some girl time with her!! I am glad you are having fun.

Leave a Reply

