Skip to content

A Moment with Courteney

October 6, 2010

Courteney Baker

One of the most wonderful aspects of having my book out is talking to the people who are reading it, have read it or are about to read it.  I have had some real moments of connection with people, a pause in the hustle of life to share a little discussion in which there is light in both of us.  I had such a moment today with one of my yoga teachers, Courteney Baker.  We sat on the floor out in the lobby, legs akimbo, me in post class nirvana and she in her teacher groove.  She had just finished a book and was ready to start another.  Of course I had the perfect solution.  We talked about life, what has happened in our lives, the possibilities that span before us.  She is 32, twenty years younger than I, yet a mature woman with many chapters of her own.  

When I signed her book, a drop of the sweat that was still being generated by my body fell to the edge of the page.  She laughed and talked about how this book was made of my blood, sweat and tears.  She was right.   So many chapters of our lives are born of blood, sweat and tears.  Some good, some bad.  This was a good moment in which I felt like a better person from interacting with Courteney, like my life was enhanced.  I still feel the joy of her hours later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Waynar permalink
    October 6, 2010 6:31 am

    I love that you share what is immediate in your being…it’s so refreshing! Love to you and I am in the mist of reading Cole Creek!
    xoxo,
    Amy W

    • October 6, 2010 8:30 pm

      Amy, Thanks for all the comments you send me. It is always a happy moment to see that you have written. Keep me posted on how you like Cole Creek.

  2. Dee permalink
    October 11, 2010 12:14 am

    Just finished it! Page burner from beginning to end! From the description, I didn’t expect a thriller! Great plot, wonderful characterizations, very creative descriptions, enlightening messages and just plain fun! Can’t wait for #2!

  3. October 11, 2010 2:07 am

    Yahoo Dee. This is what I love to hear. I am so happy you liked it and book number two has horses. If you have time, put a review on Amazon and/or Barnes & Noble. I would so much appeciate it!

Leave a Reply

