Skip to content

Ceremonious Hiking

September 30, 2010

I was asked this simple question at my book release:  How do you add ceremony to your daily life?  The young woman leaned against the magazine case, her good question causing me to pause.  There was a lot going on right then and I answered her well, I think, although I have thought about her question just about daily since then.

Today was no different.  I had an unexpected opportunity to hike in Henry Cowell this afternoon.  I had been smoldering in this heat wave helping my father during his eye surgery process.  I wanted to cool down and as I was driving past the place where I have parked my horse trailer to ride many times, I pulled over almost automatically.  I began my hike with a goal to get down to the river to immerse myself in the cool wetness of it all.  Again, for the third time in just over a week, I put my feet on the ground where Utah had carried me. 

This is one of my personal ceremonies, I realize.  When I walk where my loved ones walk, I feel them so strongly, whether it be human or animal.  I feel Utah’s presence, as well as the people I have ridden with.  I have cultivated this feeling over the years, intentionally focused on the action of my feet stepping on the earth, on the same ground but in different time.  My hike becomes more than just being out in the woods, it becomes food and love and connection.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva permalink
    September 30, 2010 5:41 pm

    He was the most special spirit… an individual force. Utah would go the extra mile, literally, carry on even when he probably wasn’t sure how it would result in the end. He was so patient with me, allowed me to discover and make mistakes. We were both learning, him a green four years, and me twelve. He was at most times my only friend and closest companion. We both shared deep connections with him that in retrospect I don’t know if I would have made it through that time as well as I did. He was an outlet for me emotionally, we would talk without words, just a look was needed. I will always remember and love little Utie. I am glad we both shared this horse’s love.

    • October 1, 2010 12:58 am

      There was a time, remember, when we did not know if we could share the love of this special creature. Look at us now, Evacita, how far we have come as human beings, as mother and daughter, as friends. I believe that Utah was a bridge for us in some way even when it seemed the opposite. I felt you in him always.

  2. October 2, 2010 9:37 pm

    hello!This was a really wonderful blog!
    I come from usa, I was fortunate to find your Topics in wordpress
    Also I obtain a lot in your subject really thank your very much i will come every day

Leave a Reply

