Skip to content

A Night to Remember

September 18, 2010

Kendra, Cole, Jack, Genavieve, Me, Eva, Grant

 What an evening.  It was everything that I hoped for and more.  At the root of all of it was the gift of my children coming out in full force to make this happen for me.  Being surrounded by them for the last several days, preparing the food together, each of them willing to give their time to me with total grace and love.  It is testament to the truth that you never know what gifts you are going to receive from the universe.  That is why, even though I want to write about the literary aspect of the evening of my book release and first ever author event, I want to thank my children – Genavieve, Eva, 

The kids' hard work

Jack and Cole and honorary children – Kendra and Grant, for the beautiful and heartfelt gift of their love and support.  I will treasure it always.  

We filled the venue to standing room only.  My nerves had been steadily increasing throughout the afternoon.  Had I prepared my talk enough?  Would it be of interest to the group?  The support from the community poured in and my nerves were swept away by the enjoyment of greeting people, signing books, catching up.  When Tamera Walters, the event coordinator for the Capitola Book Cafe, fellow water polo mom bench warmer who I am honored to call a friend, began her introduction, my nerves rose to their highest pitch.  I searched the crowd for Gabriel Constans, another local writer, who showed me a physical trick to calm nerves.  I caught his eye and tapped my face and he went through the process with me from across the room.   Without further ado, I was up in front of the crowd and the moment I have thought about for the past many weeks was at hand.  The faces I saw were filled with encouraging anticipation.  Nerves threaded through my first paragraph, my voice slightly wobbly as I began.  All of a sudden, as if mercy exhaled a breath directly into my veins, I relaxed.  I so much wanted to take the advice of Ransom Stephens, a writer who told me to relish this moment, that writers don’t have enough of them to get conceited.   

The rest was like a dream, I believe I was able to live what I was saying, as I essentially reinvented myself as I spoke.  Looking around the room, I could see people were not only entertained, but moved.  My father in the front row, old friends studded around the room, people I had never met, acquaintances who took the time to come out and support this new author.  What can be said, to be able to bring something to others like that, touch people and then combine that with a beautiful journey with my husband and children…   

Thank you one and all….   

Shiny and Happy, Me and my love.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen permalink
    September 18, 2010 3:53 pm

    It was wonderful and you pulled it off so well! The speech went swimmingly. And it was great to see and talk to the kids. Congratulations!

  2. September 18, 2010 4:44 pm

    Oh Helen, my lovely friend. Thank you so much.

  3. Dee permalink
    September 18, 2010 8:52 pm

    Was a lovely evening! I saw another poster on FB encouraging to do a book tour….I agree! You are entertaining and fun….go for it!:)

  4. September 19, 2010 2:02 am

    I’d love to! Just got to figure out how…

  5. Eva permalink
    September 19, 2010 11:16 pm

    I am so proud of you! It was truly your moment and your beautiful light shined within and spread through the room. You really touched us all, in some way or another, people of all ages were telling me they could relate and what a natural you are. You can capture the attention of a crowd- and that is a skill that not all possess! It was spectacular and everything we all have hoped from you. Can’t wait for the next!! P.S. people asked if we could cater events for them!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

