Skip to content

Party Shoes

September 10, 2010

  

Eva Pain

I’m having some fun.  My daughter Eva and I went to look for shoes to wear with my party dress.  I haven’t shopped for high-heeled shoes in a century.  We went downtown to Bunny’s, where shoes are lined up like dazzling jewels.  When I tried the first pair on, Eva told me that I needed to practice, I was that wobbly.  After a dozen more pairs tried on, I started to feel like a pro.  It is more fun than I remember and I feel so girlie.   

But, I was not convinced that I had met the pair that was to carry me through my  event .  Another date was made between us and again we went off to roll up pant legs, stretch on some knee-high shear stockings and strut our stuff in any shoe that caught our fancy.  I have to say, grumpy shopper that I tend to be, naysayer against shopping as a pleasurable experience, I can now see that there is a genuine sense of pleasure to be found in looking for this type of feminine footwear, especially when accompanied by a knowledgable companion such as my daughter.  Expertly, she guided me away from such models as the frumpy pair, the slutty pair and the stripper models.  I was like the  

Genavieve and Eva

little girl who wanted the red patent leather no matter what the occasion.  

Now that I think of it, it is fitting that this mother and daughter look for party shoes together.  I had to wear corrective shoes when I was younger, those big heavy clunky things that are supposed to force you to walk properly.  So when it came time to pick out Easter shoes, my time out from correction, I went for glamour.  Skip forward 35 years.  Eva had these purple patent leather shoes that I ordered from a mail order catalogue when she was about 5 years old.  They were slippery, they didn’t breath, they were seriously dangerous.  She insisted on wearing them all the time.  I used to sneak in at night and take them off her feet when she was dead asleep so that her feet could dry out.   

I love them!

So here we are, two peas in a pod, secret patent leather lovers, together on a mission to find the perfect pair of shoes.  We entered Macy’s thinking we should just take a look.  I was convinced that I must have a brown shade.  Several pairs cried out for attention, one particular pair was gorgeous.  Once again, my size was not to be had.  The salesperson, Shaun Gruber, brought out a black pair of classic pumps.  I decided to give them a go.  What can I say, I am Cinderella and I am ready for the ball.  

Shaun Gruber and Eva Pain

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 4:17 am

    S0 many memories! lovE Mom

    • September 10, 2010 4:56 am

      I was thinking of you the whole time! What are you doing up on the East Coast reading my blog in the middle of the night! Crazy girl!

  2. Gena permalink
    September 10, 2010 5:12 am

    I love them Mom! I am counting down the days to the big night… while enjoying your book!

  3. Eva permalink
    September 10, 2010 3:04 pm

    That was so much fun!!! I am very excited for the big day and so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

