Skip to content

Tim Morley, Family Man

September 2, 2010

Tim Morley and Robert Boltje

 What can I say, my husband is a stud.  It is a well know fact throughout Santa Cruz County.  When Tim Morley decides to do something, he gives it every bit of his intense attention.  What Santa Cruz County might not know, it that the place he truly shines is the choppy waters of family life.   

Sometimes it might seem like I have something to complain about, like when Tim goes off to his outrigger canoe practice with religous-like faithfulness, and if I know him, being the first one there and the last one to leave or when he comes home and announces that he is going to take a volleyball class, adding yet another practice to his already busy athletic schedule.  It would be easy to drop into basic wifely nagging or some other such miserable behavior that dampens life’s basic enjoyment.  But, the thing is, when it comes down to it, I know I am first and he did something the other day that sent that message home.  

Tim has been looking forward all season to the Catalina race that is coming up in a week.  He decided to give his seat up for a multitude of reasons, but the main one (he told me today) being that he wants to support me during that week leading up to my book release.  This man, my love, has been quietly supporting me in the background as I bump into myself learning how to get this whole thing off the ground.  He has taken over all of the grocery shopping, laundry, dishes, a lot of the cooking.  He listens to my fears and calmly offers a different perspective.  And now, without any request on my part, he decides to stay and share this time with me, because he wants to.   

Cole Creek is really our book, our baby that was born of my mind and cradled by both of us.  Now, our baby is grown up and on the cusp of its debut in the community.  I am nervous about its reception, but he isn’t.  He is proud of my achievement and the feeling is mutual.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marvin Tennefoss permalink
    September 3, 2010 2:38 pm

    Julie and Tim!!! What a team of work-a-holics. How have they found it possible to share enough together-time ? Your book not only looks great but the cover really gets the reader well prepped for a great read!

  2. Laura permalink
    September 3, 2010 3:47 pm

    Congratulations again! You two, each and together, make me want to cry — in a happy way! To repeat my phone message to you, I was delighted to get the doorstep delivery — a further delight was the acknowledgment page. Thank you back!

  3. Helen permalink
    September 3, 2010 5:34 pm

    A wonderful man with old world values. He is industrious, committed, reliable, resourceful, and dedicated to family. He honors the earth, keeps his word and obligations, is way there in a clutch, and is a manly man, in all the good ways. And he’s getting even better with the benefits of time, age, and experience. A great find in a man, Julie.

Leave a Reply

