Skip to content

One Dog’s Life

August 6, 2010

I promised my husband that I would dedicate an entire blog to our dog Zephyr.  She certainly deserves the attention, she would be the first one to say so.  When Tim read Where the Red Fern Grows to the kids, he decided that a blue tick coon hound was the right family dog for us.  The fact that breeders mentioned how these dogs did not exactly make good ‘family dogs’ didn’t diminish his enthusiasm.  We finally located someone who would actually sell us a puppy outside of being considered as a hunting prospect, making sure we understood that these dogs are not like normal dogs.  What could that possibly mean?  We were soon to find out. 

Making a long story short, it is the depth of emotion that our coon hound feels, her need to express those feelings in a loud and conclusive manner, her total dedication to keeping Tim and me in her sights and keeping everyone else (kids included) firmly in their place outside the circle of trust.  In time, other humans become tolerable, but please don’t ask for any little pleasantries.  Other dogs, get real.  There could not be a wide enough berth.  So it has gone for these past 7 years, as she had always know would be the case, she is here and the kids have gone off.  Why do we put up with her?  She is the best darn mountain, horse, backcountry dog you can imagine.  So full of devoted love and affection, man this dog can cuddle.  

I am not the only one who evolved in Idaho this year.  Perhaps it was being leash free for over a month or the sheer happiness of  having the freedom to hang out in front of the house basking in the morning sun, an 18 acre domain to keep under watch, nose to the wind, or maybe she has simply mellowed with age.  Zephyr has started to make some friends, both human and canine.  She is sitting beside me right now, her sleepy snoring sound keeping me company.  When I finish writing this, I will tell her that it is time to go for a run and she will be ready in a half-second.  She is a winner, this little dog of many nicknames.  I don’t know if I will ever agree to another hound in my lifetime, but I am sure glad we got to live with this one. 

learning the ropes

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:47 pm

    Zepher–what a love!

  2. Eva permalink
    August 7, 2010 5:08 am

    Hey Zephie likes me! And she loves Frankie even more… hahaha. Hey it was really windy tonight wasn’t it? 🙂

  3. Amy Waynar permalink
    August 10, 2010 8:36 am

    of all the nicknames – I love mushy the best…it suits her well, she is mush when it comes to laying down next to you in the quiet times – she is for sure the best blue tick coon hound I’ve ever met. thanks Gizmo for the company that night in Mackay, ID when the wind was howling much like yourself whenever the dust would fly around the 18 acres just to let someone know that something was on the approach.

  4. November 11, 2011 10:38 pm

    I am a avid coon hunter and am just starting a blog about my coon hunting, and other random things about raccoons. Can I share this information on my new blog. I will of course link back to you and give you credit. Happy Hunting

Leave a Reply

