Skip to content

Back to Bikram

August 1, 2010

Amy Mihal, photo by Poppy De Garmo

After 6 weeks, the yoga room welcomed me without a shred of reproach.  Amy smiled and said “welcome back, you look like you got some sun.”  I love this in so many ways, the absence of any type of should and the total presence of an open door to one’s own practice, whatever it may be.  I just made it in time and found a spot in the third row near the door.  Even the spot was perfect for this un-stretched body, the physical labor of my Idaho time having clamped my muscles closely around my bones and sinew.  Add days of driving on to that formula and you have a body that needs Bikram Yoga, but may not see it that way right off. 

Yogini Nicole Duke, serious inspiration

After weeks being in the outside dry inter-mountain desert air, the damp hot closed quarters felt a bit like a recipe for suffocation.  My beginning breathing series was shallow, let’s face it, I just wanted to make it through.  I had promised myself that I would go slow, not allow my brain to betray my body by popping into the depth of posture I can maintain when in regular practice.  I honored that promise and my body has repaid me in kind – I feel wonderful today, more than wonderful.  I have thought about yoga quite a bit lately.  Since my horse has passed, I realize that I have this opportunity to increase the time I can devote to my Bikram practice.  It is a new beginning, a return in a cycle to a different starting place where I can build my form from a stronger more educated place, using what I have learned, but still re-starting anew. 

Photo of Bikram yogis off the internet

Perhaps all yoga is this awesome, but since I am a Bikram enthusiast, I feel qualified to comment in this way.  I love the way that ego is out of place, the way that it doesn’t matter what the poses look like, how far one can stretch, if a pose needs to be sat out, or how long it has been since I have been in the room, the practice is there, available, offering its benefits to anyone who engages.  Being in a room filled with people collectively but separately making the world a better place through meditation and physical effort, fortifies my faith in the reality of thriving as a human being in crowded communities especially when I have the culture shock of returning from Idaho.  I can’t wait till this afternoon’s 4pm class.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Waynar permalink
    August 2, 2010 6:05 am

    hey girl, I’m so glad that you had the chance to finally stretch those muscles and put your mind at ease with your yoga!! I would like to engage in this also, I hope to be able to meet you one day in your class and experience this same relaxation and bliss…you are an inspiration to me and many…keep blogging!! xoxoAmy

  2. August 23, 2010 12:44 pm

    Hi Julie, great to find a Bikram enthusiast. I’ve just started my own Bikram journey and hope that I will grow to love it as you do. Cheers, Danielle

    • August 23, 2010 1:41 pm

      Congratulations on the beginning of your journey in the world of
      Bikram Yoga. The benefits are many. Keep me posted about your changes.

Leave a Reply

