Skip to content

An Earned Paradise

July 21, 2010

The power of physical labor is a beautiful thing.  Our little house on the prairie is turning bit by bit into a homestead.  The small garden plot that I converted from rock, sage and more rock is blooming and thriving.  Bunnies have taken their share and when I live here full-time, I will make sure that I plant enough for everyone.  Tim and I each now have our own projects.  I am clearing the pasture, hauling buckets of rock and putting them around the perimeter.  I imagine that I am doing exactly what people have done for generations, out in the sun using my own hands to create a cleared field by the sweat of my brow.  It is toil that nourishes my heart and soul, it is the very work of it that rewards.

Tim’s project is to build an outdoor oven/fireplace combo.  He is hauling wheelbarrow after wheelbarrow of large stones from around the property.  He has accumulated quite a pile.  The hours fly by as we work on our land.  Today, all of a sudden is was after 2pm, our stomachs’ were empty and growling, our skin parched and thirsty as well.  No problem, we walked down to where the creek meanders on to our property.  It is a nice waist deep swimming hole.  We visit this slice of heaven several times a day.  After cooling off in the rushing water it was lunch time.  Sitting on the deck in our his and her’s chairs, we nourished our bodies, but this time with food.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Waynar permalink
    July 21, 2010 3:02 am

    Thank you for the snapshot of what I am about to experience and enjoy with you…See you soon!

  2. Patti Schafer permalink
    July 21, 2010 3:10 am

    How incredible it must be to wake up with such beauty surrounding you! Such peace…

  3. Nicola Fox permalink
    July 21, 2010 7:42 pm

    What a beautiful place, Julie!! What part of Idaho is this located? It makes me wonder what your CA homestead looks like. I’m sure just as lovely of a setting.

    • July 22, 2010 2:44 am

      It is about 25 miles north of Mackay, ID in the Big Lost River Valley. Yes, incredible. Every day I can’t believe the beauty. In Santa Cruz, we have a regular old suburban home! It is a few blocks from the beach though. But, this Idaho is my dream come true.

Leave a Reply

