Skip to content

A Daughter, Two Horses and the Wide Open Spaces

July 8, 2010

A wide part in the Road

 I drove over this scary-as-you-can-imagine road to pick up my daughter from the Sun Valley airport.   The road is not passable in the winter and I know why, but it saves and hour and a half of driving time when it is open.  It is a one lane gravel situation with shale on one side and nothing stopping my truck from going down thousands of feet on the other.  It wouldn’t be so bad if the truck didn’t shimmy sideways on the gravel even when going super slow.  The great part is the scenery though.   

Descending into Sun Valley

You travel from the Challis National Forest into the Sawtooth before finally arriving at very elegant Sun Valley and Ketchum.   

Genavieve and I finally made it back to our place and promptly went for a ride about 8:30 pm (plenty of daylight left).  It is a wonder to have her here and not just because of the free slave  

Genavieve

 labor that she represents.  Any days spent with a 23-year-old child is like a gift handed down from heaven.  We have talked, cooked, worked and ridden twice now.  We have decided to ride every day.  As I write this, she is in the kitchen making us a peach pie.   

 The horses had a great day, they napped in the pasture, got out for 2 1/2 hours in the wide open spaces and rolled in the dirt.  The dog is crashed out, she was too tired to even scratch at the door to come in.  I went  

nap time for Little Jack

out to barbeque the dinner and she was asleep against the door in the evening sun.  I am afraid to pinch myself because I don’t want to wake up from this awesome dream I am having.  Then I realize that it is real and it makes it even better.  One of the things I love best is seeing the fruit of some pretty intense physical and mental labor, ripen into an Eden of an experience.  

 

On the way over the pass

Her name is Fancy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    July 8, 2010 3:02 am

    Lovely horses. Looks like you two are going to have a ball.

    Dad & Grandpa

  2. Linda Hollinshead permalink
    July 8, 2010 11:05 am

    Hi Julie. I met you at your Mom’s house when she was recuperating after surgery. I was the one who brought the cd player and music. I must tell you that I so enjoy your blog. It is well-written, the topics are interesting, and I get a sense of your nature and good spirit. I adore your Mom, and it has been fun getting to know her even better through you. Thank you for that and keep enjoying your wonderful life. Linda

    • July 9, 2010 5:16 am

      Thanks so much for writing Linda. I appreciate your comments. Perhaps we will meet again when I come to N. Carolina for my book events!

  3. Marin Tennefoss permalink
    July 8, 2010 9:42 pm

    Your 7thHeaven looks great to me! Gena and you make quite a team! Have lots of fun while you can! Love to both, Marvin

Leave a Reply

