Skip to content

Independence Day

July 5, 2010

half painted shelter and borrowed horse

How fitting to celebrate Independence Day on my own in the Big Lost River Valley of Idaho.  I am losing myself in a way, losing the parts that I choose to reinvent, declaring my independence from the life that has served me well, but is now past its time.  Just as the early Americans brought pieces of their culture and history to a new land, creating new ways of being out of the fabric of their pasts, adjusting to a different environment , so am I. 

Walt Johnson Mowing

I am a California girl, born and raised, and proud of it.  I love natural foods, tree hugging and recycling.  Perhaps I am somewhat a fish out of water here in cow country, but the welcome mat has been out for me in full force.  These Idahoans know how to make a new neighbor feel good.   When I served up Walt Johnson (who came to mow down some sagebrush) green ice tea with grapefruit essence and celery sticks filled with fresh ground peanut butter, he seemed thrilled – except for the celery part.

Lunch Time

  Each day has been filled with my new work like moving hoses to water the pasture, feeding horses, painting the horse shelter, raking mowed sage brush into piles…   At the end of the day, when I saddle up my borrowed horse and go for that evening ride, my upper body muscles feel well used and important.  I ride over the final rise and can see my place in the distance, all the work starting to make the little house on the prairie look like home.   It is not all rosy, I miss my husband so much now, the ache gets a little more intense each day.  This missing makes me think more about those early Americans who went on ahead of family members and then counted the days until their chance to reunite. 
   In the end, it is a gamble to change your life so completely.  I feel privileged to live in a country where the option to take that risk is possible.  That it still boils down to making our own choices and perhaps that choice involves risking the security of the known to grab for a dream in a country where anything is possible.

My Independence Day Display

From the Deck

More Fireworks

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marin Tennefoss permalink
    July 5, 2010 3:42 pm

    Julie…your blogs are very enjoyable!

  2. July 6, 2010 2:58 am

    Thank you sir!

  3. Eva permalink
    July 6, 2010 7:48 pm

    Idaho is so beautiful. Sometimes people ask me why you guys have decided to move there- these pictures say it all. I miss the smell of sage brush after a light rain, the wild colors of the sunset. Enjoy the beauty and rapture!!! Thanks for sharing it with all of us.

    • July 7, 2010 3:57 am

      Another unbelievable sunset tonight. We went for an evening ride, the cool air spured us into a trot to round the point.

Leave a Reply

