Skip to content

Rock Picker

July 3, 2010

It is difficult to drag myself inside on these perfect Idaho evenings.  I’ve been working outside until 8pm because it is just so incredible here.  I guess I should also mention that there is a ton of projects to accomplish.  I have thrown myself into this work with complete joy and satisfaction, especially after the tragic event on the way here.  If I thought that I might be making a mistake after what happened (see  In Memory of Utah, last blog), all of my misgivings have been squelched. 

I stopped in Twin Falls on the way and filled my empty trailer full of plants and bags of soil to create a garden in honor of Utah.  That project had first dibs because in this heat and dry climate, plants in little plastic 4 packs will not last long.  I got my shovel out on the first morning.  It went into the earth about 1/100th of an inch, not kidding.  Not to worry, I quickly removed the camper from the truck, drove the quick 25 miles to town and purchased the only pick for sale at the Western Store.  For the next two days, I picked and hacked, dug out rocks, hauled buckets of rocks, picked some more and rustled up a new crop of rocks.  Okay, no problem, rocks can be quite useful in other applications.  In fact, I am getting a name for myself around here as the nutty rock lady. 

Well, elbow grease works every time and I am proud to announce my fledgling garden has been planted.  Even better, yesterday morning while I was sitting on the deck drinking my coffee, a hummingbird visited one of the new flowers.  Better yet, when I just went outside a second ago to take a picture of that flower (by the way, it is about 9:30 pm, still plenty of light for pictures) there was a bunny in the garden.  Now I wonder what he wants?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    July 3, 2010 4:06 am

    Hope your garden gets established in the little time you have there. The flowers do look happy and it’s nice to see the color. Even if your garden is short-lived I still think it’s worth it. Love the added structures that were meant for Utah.

  2. Eva permalink
    July 4, 2010 5:07 am

    You are the nutty rock lady! I think it is passed down through the gene pool because recently at shasta I collected some rocks!!! Remember my rock polisher?

  3. July 4, 2010 9:13 pm

    Ah yes, the rock polisher. I think of you and how many rocks your strong arms could haul.

Leave a Reply

