Skip to content

Congrats to One and All

June 13, 2010

Kendra and Cole

Yesterday was a big day for our family.  Cole, the youngest child, graduated from high school.  Genavieve came up from San Luis Obispo and I met Eva’s boyfriend Grant.  Jack and Jessica came.  It was wonderful.  The graduation itself was lovely, but the real magic of the day was in sitting back at the family party and watching these newly minted adults that used to be little children 5 minutes ago, delving into their lives, making their own choices, trying out perspectives, just stepping out into the world.

Grant, Eva, Genavieve, Jack, Jessica

  After the ceremony when the families join the graduates, you could feel the sense of community, the collective of fellow parents reveling in passage of the children we have known from volunteering in the elementary classroom to cheering side by side at water polo games.  I am so glad that I made it to every game, dance performance, award, doctor’s appointment….  Because now, as I have learned from my kids already, I am no longer the first person called or thought of.  As it should be.  As it should be.

It is fitting that I am headed to Idaho for 5 weeks.  I will have the opportunity to try out my new life.  Did my son graduate or did I?  The reality is that we both did and even though the parenting isn’t over, my biggest parenting goal is already achieved, that of ushering the kids into adulthood with a few critical skills that I deem to be of the utmost importance. 

  •  Able minded. 
  • An understanding of the importance of walking the earth softly. 
  • Self sufficiency. 
  • An asset to society and not a drain.
  • The desire to love and live fully. 
  • The ability to admit mistakes and correct them.

Fathers and sons

Yesterday, I could see these attributes in the four adults that I have had the privilege to take part in raising.  Now, the future is theirs to create.  I want to thank and honor the other five adults that have parented with me.  First and foremost, my husband Tim.  Thank you, I love you with all my heart and soul.  Thank you to Caryn Murray and John Pain, the other biological parents and a special thank you to Kristin Hussey and Andrew Murray, step-parents extraordinaire.  We have all danced around the difficult issues, given when we needed to, been there when it counted, all in the name of our children.

brothers and friends

sisters

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cesar permalink
    June 13, 2010 6:49 am

    It has been an incredible journey and I couldn’t be prouder of you and what you and the family have accomplished. I am the happiest Dad and grandpa and hope to see more good things.

  2. Helen permalink
    June 13, 2010 7:33 pm

    Special congratulations to Cole from Scott and Helen! A big milestone!

Leave a Reply

