Skip to content

Bike It

June 3, 2010

Utah with his camping buddies

I haven’t been in my car for days.  I’ve had extra incentive this week since I will be heading out in my gas eating, equine trailer pulling, camper sporting Chevy Silverado, for another horse camping trip on Friday.  Yesterday I left my house at 5:45 AM, worked my 8 hour shift at the hospital, pedaled the thirty minutes to the barn, did the horse thing, rode downtown to Village Yoga for some sweat time and then convinced my legs to keep it up till I arrived home after 8PM.  I still feel good about it.  I am woman, hear me roar. 

The more I ride, the easier it seems.  I notice that it is easy to get out of the habit and more difficult to get back into riding again after I have slipped back into the car life.  I also notice though, that when I’m driving and I see someone on a bike in 

The Gas Hog

the open air, I get jealous.  I store up all these green moments into a giant burning incentive to leave the car keys on the hook.  I’ll tell you what has got my butt out there more than anything.   It is the oil dumping into the Gulf.  I can’t help but feel responsible every time I push the gas pedal.  But, I love getting into the mountains with my horse, its my thing.  So, I am doubly determined to make a difference when I can and skip those extra trips in my car and burn fat, not oil, just like the un-bumper sticker says that I saw attached a friend’s bike at the coffee shop. 

Our Transportation Bikes

My husband always rides – everywhere, rain sleet or snow.  He makes the mailman seem wimpy.  His dedication is intense and I do believe after all these years, I have become a believer.  I have entertained every conceivable justification for why I need to drive a couple of miles instead of bike them, but when it comes down to it, I lose out when I choose the car.  So be it then,  at this moment, I rededicate myself to ride whenever possible and if I get weak and start to drive again, I will start over just like any addict who wants to change.  One day at time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amanda Lemley permalink
    June 3, 2010 6:07 pm

    Awesome! Yes, this the message everyone needs to get with the reckless spoiling of our shores by the billionaire corporation BP!! Stop driving, stop eating beef, turn out your lights, do your part to decrease this country’s dependency on oil! (and in the process, be healthier) Thanks Julie for a timely reminder. I love it!

Leave a Reply

