Skip to content

Reading as Life

May 15, 2010

The Very Hungry Catapillar

 The date of my book release party and signing for Cole Creek has been set, Sept 17th.  The event will be at the Capitola Book Café, a place that fed my aspirations to become a writer and where I sat on the floor to read books to my children.  Now my adult children will be there to celebrate this milestone in my life, so many years in coming.  There was a time when I wouldn’t have thought this was possible, but that isn’t probably even true.   Sometimes possibilities are hidden under a layer of what we have to do at the moment.  It doesn’t mean that they aren’t there.  That old philosophical question, the one about the tree falling in the forest, really applies to most things in life.  Our perception is not required in order to make things real.  Thank God.  

 

Eva

My mind is sometimes too much.  I have to practice making it shut up, and even in the middle of some ridiculous yoga pose, it sometimes acts out.  But, we have to take the bad with the good, don’t we?  I used to read a book to my kids that gave value judgments to a thing.  On one page it would say that something was good and something else was bad.  On the next page, the circumstances have changed as this young boy somehow finds himself in a crazy jungle on the way to school, and what was good became bad and vice versa.  In the end, the kid makes it to school.  He is late and his clothes are dirty.  The teacher doesn’t believe his wild story and he is in trouble, but you can tell the kid feels good.  I can’t even remember the name of the book right now, but I often think about the way the notion of what is good and bad can instantly flip. 

What does this all mean?  It just means that life has hidden possibilities and they can be as good as we want to make them.  That when we feel like life hasn’t turned out the way we want, we can shift our view and see that it is better than we thought.  A few years ago, I wondered why I hadn’t realized my dreams.  How had I gone wrong?  Now, after a few short thousand hours of hard work, the hidden treasure of my future has opened before me and become my present.  Life is what we make it.  Everything is possible. 

Genavieve

Eva & Genavieve

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

