Skip to content

My First Grandchild

April 8, 2010

Charlie

I have a grandchild now.  It isn’t human, thank goodness.  Not that I don’t want them, but everything in its good time.  My grandchild is a cat named Charlie and of course he is the most special cat ever. 

I was in a coffee shop today trying to get some writing in.  Normally, this shop has a sophisticated adult type atmosphere, conducive to working  and getting a coffee buzz.  Today there was a pancake breakfast fund-raiser going on, so you probably know where I am going next.   Kids, small ones, lots of them.  Climbing all over, putting their hands on everyone’s tables, whining, even yelling.  Okay, it was a good cause and they were cute, but it reinforced my relief that I could close up my laptop and sneak away and no little person would come running after me or even care. 

Genavieve

I got safely home, washed my hands thoroughly with soap and water, and noticed I had a text message from my daughter Genavieve who lives in San Luis Obispo.  It was a cute picture of Charlie and it made me so happy.  He is so grown up now.  Wasn’t it just yesterday that he was a reckless kitten.  Now look at him!

I guess grandmotherhood won’t be so bad after all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Helen Williams permalink
    April 9, 2010 5:41 am

    Aww…..puddles.

Leave a Reply

