Skip to content

A Lifelong Dream

March 30, 2010

Little Julie

Once upon a time, there was a little girl named Julie.  She loved words and she loved to tell stories.  She would tell them to her family and her plastic horses and her troll dolls.  She would play in her room for hours and make up worlds for each of her playthings.  She dreamed of writing a book and when the Scholastic Book order came in the mail, it was the best day of the month.  That little girl grew up, but somehow, life got in the way and the next thing she knew, she was over 50 years old.

I signed my book contract with Black Rose Writing today.  It is the fruition of a lifetime’s goal and one that I have attempted with the success of completion several times in the past.  When my grandfather, Jesus Padilla, died in his later nineties, I got my first computer in the hopes of finally writing my first novel.  I had a story but it wasn’t enough.  There were probably three more computers

I am in the middle with Grandpa at the Santa Cruz Wharf

between then and the laptop that I am writing on now.  Last year at this time, I was at the one hundred and some pages stage that I had been at on more than one occasion.  It was the moment that I wondered if I was going to give up again and all those reasons for stopping would have seemed just as legitimate.  But, I didn’t stop.  I had people helping me, like my friend Paula Medeiros, who gave me the right book at the right time.  Bird by Bird has so much great writing advice and the section about continuing on and not looking back until the first draft is complete was the spark I needed at that moment. 

Early 20's, In Baja

When I was a young woman, I felt creativity in my heart.  I don’t mean it in a conceited way, but more in an offering kind of way, like a desire to give something out.  When we are young, we don’t know what that really means, and I tried all kinds of ways of expressing.  Is it about giving of your self in relationships, making a wonderful holiday meal, sewing the Christmas pajamas, what is it?  I would spin out with all the possibilities and it was the sanity of nature that helped me to find some focus.  In fact, people questioned my love for an activity or hobby, because after a certain point I might drop it completely and move on.

Now, here I am decades later and I can finally abandon my fear

Me and Lisa Lindeman

that my long twisted road was the wrong choice and would never lead me to accomplish my lifetime goal. All of my experiences, the people I have encountered, gotten to know and not, befriended and turned off, the endeavors I have mastered or washed out in, the child to my parents and parent to my children, the lover to my husband and his ball and chain too, have all been the right road for me. I feel the desire to thank the world for its offerings because one day it will all show up in one of my books.

Me and Mom, Duck Lake in Minnesota

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Helen Williams permalink
    March 30, 2010 12:47 pm

    Wow. How wonderful! All those Julies pictured there, many of whom I personally remember. Hope the book goes swimmingly.

  2. Gena permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:29 am

    When I got the text that your book was going to be published, I felt a surge of joy! Ever since I was young, I remember you talking about how you wanted to write a book. I am so proud of you that your wish has come true.

Leave a Reply

