Skip to content

The Beautiful and The Delicious

February 25, 2010

I responded to someone’s blog last night.  I don’t know who’s it is or how I got there, or if she even posted my comment.  It was late and I was done for the night, but I keep thinking about what I wrote because I never thought of writing and rewriting in that way before.  Then tonight, watching my recording of American Idol, one of the contestants mentioned how she was sewn into her dress and couldn’t pee.  How do these two concepts relate? 

It has to do with eating the beautiful delicious cake, or wearing the smashing dress, or reading the fabulous novel and yes, also seeing someone perform on American Idol.  What we love is the finished product.  Do we want everyone to see the seams and the pins, the dirty measuring cups, batter and egg shells on the kitchen counter or do we want to have people walk in and say wow, that is an incredible cake.  They know that a lot went into its production, but that part is the mystery of what was created. 

That is how I suddenly see the early drafts of my novel.  I look back and can read my stream of thoughts, the way my mind created the characters and fleshed them out with actions, dialogue and the reasons behind all that.  As a reader, I just want the living characters going about their business.  I don’t want to know what is underneath their skirts.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Doug Moll permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:29 pm

    Hi cousin!

    Finally we make a connection. It’s fun reading about your backcountry exploits. Cindi and I have enjoyed some similar experiences. Why do we skin up for a couple of hours to ski down for 5 minutes? Hell if I know but it’s sure keeps the baby fat from getting out of hand! Last year we skinned up and skiied down the slopes of Breckenridge a few times without ever buying a lift ticket. It’s a long snowshoe from Idaho to Colorado so consider flying or driving down to see us.

    Take care!

    Doug

  2. February 26, 2010 12:46 am

    Imagine that, my very own cousin out of the blue. And, we like the same things. The power of the internet. We will have to get together some time. I am so glad that you responded.

  3. February 26, 2010 7:07 pm

    I keep thinking that I need to put this and that into my book just to get early thoughts about a character in to it. Usually I’ve found that’s a mistake though so I think you’re right. It’s a fun process though! 🙂

  4. February 26, 2010 8:56 pm

    The stream of thought for us is vital though. I followed the advice in the fantastic book Bird by Bird, which encourages us to keep writing and not look back until you are done. Now I get it. I have rewritten my manuscript so many times, had I stopped to make it perfect all the way along, I would still be at page 50.

    But, all those extra words did help me understand why I wrote what I did almost a year before when I began. My recent revelation has been understanding that certain sentences seem to mean a lot to me for some unknown reason, but that didn’t mean they were good or important to the story. It seems that the trick is to let those little loves go. You are so right about the fun. Even if the writing was crap and … I asked people to read it…how embarassing, my life is so much better while writing.

  5. March 1, 2010 7:47 am

    Why is it that we need not just recognition for a job well done but for every step we took along the way? The competiton about who has the harder job, life, kids, co-workers… why invite the negativity? It is comical to me. Growing up dancing and performing taught me that while maybe your legs are working double overtime, your face, arms, torso is the hostess graciously inviting you inside for a drink. Not always is a “show” needed, but some mystery is enchanting and intriguing!

Leave a Reply

